Thursday, October 30, 2008

Whiting Writers Awards

The 2008 Whiting Writers Awards have been announced. Each winner gets $50,000.

The winners in poetry are Rick Hilles, Douglas Kearney and Julie Sheehan. Essay is Donovan Hohn, and for playwrighting Dael Orlandersmith.

The winners in fiction are Mischa Berlinski, Laleh Khadivi, Manuel Muñoz, Benjamin Percy, and Lysley Tenorio.

I studied with Lysley Tenorio at Stanford, when he was one of the Stegner mafia. Now he's on the faculty at St. Mary's. I'm so happy for him.

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

<< Home